Whatley Award

The Whatley Award is given each year at the conference in memory of George Whatley, a founder and early president of the Popular Culture Association in the South. The editor and editorial board of Studies in Popular Culture annually recognize the article published in the journal’s previous two issues that, in their view, best represents the scholarly values Professor Whatley sought for the organization and the study of popular culture.

The 2022 Whatley Award goes to:

Claire Christof

Joan Didion, California, and the “Impersonally Personal”

Previous Winners:

Jonathan Bassett and Angela Tenga
Spies Like Us: Ideology and Futility in the FX Television Series The Americans