Stern Award

The Stern Award, named for luminary Jerome Stern, is given each year at the conference by the editor and editorial board of Studies in American Culture to recognize the best article published in the journal’s previous year.

The 2022 Stern Award goes to:

Rob McDonald

“Imagining Harry Crews: The Landscape of A Childhood

Previous Winners:

Eva Tettenborn
“No One’s Magical Negro: Reclaiming Black Masculinities in Colson Whitehead’s Apex Hides the Hurt
Raquel Albarrán
“Schomburg and the Coloniality of Objects: An Introduction”