PCAS/ACAS Student Paper Awards

Each year  students are encouraged to submit a completed reading copy of their papers in advance of the conference to compete for the student paper awards.  Executive Council’s Members-at-Large select the best paper in popular culture studies and American culture studies.   These awards are presented at the Friday night reception at the conference.  The 2023 winners are:

Ray and Pat Browne Award for popular culture studies

Jacob Breaux,
Lamar University
Wahoo! – From the Humble Arcade, to the Home Television, to the Big Screen: The Importance of Phenomenology to the Success of The Super Mario Bros. Movie

Roger  Rollin Award for American culture studies:

Aylah Maresa Birks
Mercer University
We’ve Got a Story to Tell: The Power of Feminine Storytelling